Bio

I think I broke my own record for longest time between posts. I’m not going to even explain myself, or make excuses but I will try to post about some of the things I have been doing, very soon.
On Monday I am speaking to a St.Lawrence College Sustainability Class. I was asked to write a bio and I thought I would post it here, just in case you have forgotten who I am and what I am about.
Sarah McGaughey is an artist and mother who only begrudgingly accepts the label environmentalist. She feels it is obvious and necessary to care for “the environment” and thinks only people that don’t should be labeled.
From a very young age, Sarah refused to use Styrofoam, started and joined reusing and recycling clubs and brought environmental and other activism into her art work, school work and social life. In 1999 she graduated with a degree in Fine Arts from the University of Regina and began working as an artist/activist in the mediums of performance and installation.
From 2004-2007, she and her husband embarked on an art in life project to not produce ANY garbage for 31 days consecutively. Because she started the clock back every time they obtained one piece of garbage (even if it was as small as a sticker on a piece of fruit), it took them years to achieve their goal. She and her husband, Kyle Glover had a weekly article in the Globe and Mail as well as interviews in various magazines (Glow, Today’s Parent, Modern Babies and Children, Urbanite, Organic Earth). They also appeared on several Canadian TV and radio shows (Canada AM, the Gill Deacon Show, News Talk, The Paula and Carole Mott Show, The National, Toronto Living, the Hour), and in schools and community centers to explain what they were doing and what the average person could do to make a change in garbage production.
She stresses that this project was an Art in Life project, rather than an environmental project because some of the choices they made in order to produce zero garbage were not necessarily the most ecologically sound ones.
She is now focusing on being ecologically sound in her family life and home, as a whole. Her three person family throws out approximately one small grocery bag of garbage every 3 weeks.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bio

  1. Mom

    Hurray, you are back. Yes, I do vaguely remember you! 😉

Leave a Reply

