Baking

I wanted to post more about food and recipes, but I thought I should explain why I’m doing so and how you can make things at home to avoid trash. If you just go to the grocery store and buy all the ingredients packaged, you may end up with more garbage than if you just bought the thing you wanted (though likely the product you made would be healthier). When I post recipes, they are from ingredients that I have found in bulk, so this time, I’ll tell you where and how.
I’ve posted this recipe for crackers before but only tried it out awhile ago. It was a big success, but I tweaked it because I thought the original recipe sounded really bland.

So here is the new and improved recipe (with comments in italics about how to do it without packaging).

Ingredients:
4 cups flour
1 cup butter (or margarine)
3/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vinegar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
lots more salt and fresh rosemary cut small
OR
honey and cinnamon

In Toronto there are many places you can bring your own bag (nylon works great for flours and grains) to get Bulk Flour, A few of them are -any bulk store in Kensington Market,   Etherea on Davenport and  Ossington, The Big Carrot. In Kingston, it’s a bit trickier. BULK BARN is the only option, kind of. There is a rule that shoppers cannot bring their own bags, but many of the staff overlook it (Unfortunately some of them don’t-they’ll ring you in anyway but probably scold you). You can also buy the biggest possible bag of flour you can in a paper bag, so you have less packaging over all and it’s recycle-able at least.

Butter Foil, you can save and use for crafts, or you can reuse margarine containers if you are not concerned about extra estrogen-you will likely still have a plastic seal on the top to deal with).

Milk, get Harmony Organics in a glass jar and you’ll only have the little plastic cap to contend with. Everything else can be bought fairly easily in bulk (in Kingston at Tara Foods).

Directions:

Work the butter into the flour with a pastry cutter or fork. Next, stir the vinegar, baking soda, and salt into the milk, and add this to the butter-flour mixture.

Form the dough into a ball. Roll out very thin. Lightly score the dough in the size of the cracker you desire. (I’ve come up with an easy way to do this. I roll out the dough directly onto a flat baking sheet. Next, placing a ruler on the dough, I perforate the dough along the side of the ruler with a fork. Sometimes I make squares, sometimes diamonds. I think you could cut out the crackers with cookie cutters for special occasions, but you will have a lot of waste unless you gather up the fragments and re-roll and re-cut them.)

Now bake the crackers at 375 degrees F for about 10 to 15 minutes or until crisp. The crackers should not get too brown, just a sprinkling of brown on top.

Bread

The best bread I’ve made all comes from Unsweetened Cocoa. Our favorite is the sunflower seed one.

I finally made the No Knead bread every one is raving about and it wasn’t very good. It didn’t really rise and was way too chewy-very disappointing!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Baking

  1. kateandmatt

    I’m secretly pleased to hear the no-knead bread was a let-down. I generally have a kneejerk reaction against things everyone’s raving about, so I’ve been immaturely and stubbornly NOT trying the recipe. But by the tenth time the recipe was forwarded to me, I was beginning to think I was missing out on something life-changing. I’m stickin’ with my yummy Pan Chancho recipe – which I still have to get to you, sorry!

Leave a Reply

