Hip Hip Horrah!

I have a really good excuse for not blogging for a month and here is the photo evidence! I have been crafting like crazy to get ready for the Mulberry School Winter Fair.

All of these things were inspired by a need/want to reduce trash and have a creative outlet. I started making deodorant, toothpaste and cream for me and my family as a way to avoid getting containers every time, and also so I knew exactly what was going on and in our bodies. Unfortunately, now that  I am selling it, I am creating trash again. I ordered containers and some raw ingredients for New Directions Aromatics. Each little tin had a small Styrofoam circle in the top and everything came in bubble wrap! Almost all my other products are in mason jars, which only come in cardboard, but labels (that I don’t use) come with them in little plastic sleeves. I am offering a dollar off if you bring your container back to me, but I’m not sure how else to solve the problem. I have had people ask for the bubble wrap for felting,  so at least it will be used again. To be honest, I let Aurora dance on it and she loved it, but it feels like it’s a bit of a waste.

The sewn goods are made from a combination of new materials and up cycled clothing, curtains etc. I am never going to make hankies again because I don’t have the patience, but the gift bags are easy and fun and can also be used as produce bags at the market or grocery store.

I sold out of most things at the Mulberry School Winter Fair and I made more to sell at Made 4 You. If you are not in Kingston and would like something,  please e-mail me.   I can’t sell the owl pillows here because there is another crafter already doing so and everyone is afraid to buy mine, so if you want some owl pillows, let me know! If you are in Kingston, buy stuff from Made 4 You and talk about how great it is. I am sort of on probation for the first month, and I really want to stay on there!
Here are some recipes for some of the most popular items, if you are so inclined to made them for yourself.

Cocoa Velveet (1 jar)

Ingredients
2 tablespoons beeswax
2 teaspoons water
4 oz. cocoa butter
4 tablespoons oil (olive or almond)
2 tablespoons coconut oil

Melt the beeswax over low heat with the water. Spoon in cocoa butter and blend. Gradually blend in oils. Pour into glass jar.
Will thicken as it cools.

Mint Toothpaste
Approximately equal amounts of Vegetable glycerin and baking soda, a very small amount of salt, about a teaspoon of organic peppermint extract(to taste). Mix well will hand blender or whisk.

Sanchouli Deodorant
Use a mixer, like a kitchen Aid to mix 1.5 parts baking soda to 1 part coconut oil. I adjust the amounts until the constancy is like a thick cream. Add 1 teaspoon of Vitamin E oil, and a few drops of both patchouli and sandalwood essential oil. The sandalwood I get is mixed with jojoba oil because it costs $10 that way as opposed to $50 for pure sandalwood.

That’s all the time I have, but I have about 5 other posts brewing so stay tuned!

7 Comments

Filed under fun, gifts, holidays, personal products, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Hip Hip Horrah!

  1. Mom

    Glad to see you back blogging. I know time is short with a toddler…..i remember when you were that age.

  2. yay! a post AND the recipes I was secretly hoping you’d post. 🙂 just made more deodorant for myself.

    aaaand I found this recipe earlier today:
    http://rhythmofthehome.com/warmth/chocolate-lavender-oil/

  3. me

    hey lady!

    what was difficult about making the hankies? I’ve recently (finally) decided to go kleenex-free, but I haven’t yet investigated buying or making hankies.

    • The corners. Unless you have a special foot on your machine (which I do not) you have to iron each side down into a tiny little hem with folded corners just the rights size so that the hems don’t over lap in a funny pokey way. I do not have the patience. Besides that, tonight my machine made a crazy sizzling sound and then smelled like burnt rubber, so it may be dead for real this time!

  4. me

    ha, whoops. that was Collette, not “me”.

  5. Thanks for the inspiration, and the recipes! I’ve been wading through a make-your-own toiletries book, and haven’t found much that looks a) simple or b) appealing to me. I’m going to give these a spin, for sure!

Leave a Reply

