Someone’s in the kitchen I know o o o

I have started making my own bread! A few weeks ago, Aurora and I went over to a fiend’s and he let her poke the dough of the bread he was making, to deflate it. She loved it. I had always wanted to make bread but it just seemed like too much work. It’s not really and if you have kids, it’s something they can do too. My first loaf was Spelt bread and it was probably the best I’ve ever had. It was a bit crumbly after the 2nd or 3rd day but that’s par for the course with Spelt flour, I think.
Next I made whole wheat bread, but I couldn’t find any recipes without milk and we usually don’t have milk in the fridge…so I used this fancy recipe and it turned out great.
Actually I didn’t really follow either recipe to the mark. I ran out of honey and used more molasses plus I didn’t put any instant coffee in because that seemed too weird for me and I don’t like coffee.
Then I found a whole wheat recipe that was very simple so we made that too. It was good but a bit dense.

I finally made ketchup! I’m not sure if I’ll do it very often as it is quite time consuming considering the amount that ends up being made. I will make it at least one more time though because I want to try it without sugar, but this time I just “followed” a recipe. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I’m not sure what we will do with it as it is too sweet and even Aurora dislikes it. I will try again with no sugar!
I’ve also been making cookies and pies and cakes and personal products but I have to go make supper now so I’ll have to tell you about that in the future!

6 Comments

Filed under recipes, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Someone’s in the kitchen I know o o o

  1. Mom

    I used to make sour dough bread too. But any home made bread is great!

  2. Jennifer

    For your ketchup – have you considered making the sugar-free batch and blending it with the too-sweet first batch?

  3. My husband bakes our bread – a French country bread that’s crusty and yummy. Even if you don’t like the recipe, his post on how-to is pretty entertaining: http://blatherus.allision.com/2009/08/11/bread/

Leave a Reply

