How does your garden grow?

Our dream is to eventually have our own little plot of land and a sustainable house. I want to build with cob but if we stay in this climate we might need straw bale as well/instead. One of the problems is we are both city folk and don’t really know anything about growing food. We took a main floor apartment with a back yard so we could start to learn. We’ve done well with herbs and lettuce, but last year I waited too long to harvest the tomatoes.
This year we planted seeds we had and picked up a few plants from the farmers market. We don’t put the time we should into weeding, and we didn’t do a lot of research so we just randomly planted. Next time I would like to do companion gardening. To save time I just sort of sprinkled the seed pack of “spicy sald mix” instead of planting individual seeds, which resulted a a tangled mess of some edibles and some weeds and we weren’t sure which was which!
We haven’t spent the time we should on the garden-the peas need something to grow up (it may be too late now), we don’t weed enough and we don’t harvest often enough (our spinach has gone to seed,. Despite all of this we have tonnes of food! I’m amazed at how easy it is to grow food with very little space. We have way more lettuce than we can eat. I’m not sure what we were thinking when we planted so much! We have been keeping up with the zucchini (zucchini bread, zucchini muffins, zucchini in every curry and stirfry) so far but only one plant has been producing and the others will start soon. If you are in Toronto and would like some lettuce or zucchini please contact me!
I bought one plant that the Chinese grocer couldn’t explain to me what it was. It looks like it is bitter melon. I hope we like it!
We have lavender and calendula for my salve making, and that is going quite well.
Next year we will be in Kingston and I’m not sure if we will be able to garden in the apartment’s side yard. If not, I will find a community allotment garden. It is getting easier to do things with Aurora. She likes to dig in the dirt and water the plants. It was a bit hard this year because there is broken glass and rusty nails in the garden, not to mention a series of other DANGERS in the backyard.
We haven’t used our compost on the garden as we had at least one rat, and we are afraid of contamination.
Every time I see a little front yard with grass I think about how much food people could plant there and I wish Victory gardens never went out of fashion.

3 Comments

Filed under gardening

3 responses to “How does your garden grow?

  1. Kimberly

    Sweet, congrats on your bounty! What did you do to get the zucchini growing so well? Mine failed miserably this year… But then again, we didn’t have great weather here this summer, eh. The only thing that grew were the cucumbers and lettuce. The tomatoes are ok, but they’ll take another month or so to be ready.

  2. I guess they like neglect and rusty nails and glass. I really haven’t done much and I’ve heard quite a few people say they haven’t had any zucchinis this year.

Leave a Reply

