Where it’s at.

I’ve update the publicity page a little bit and posted the link for the CBC TV interview Aurora and I did.
Since we completed 31 days garbage free in 2007, I have really branched out in the issues I’m dealing with on a daily basis. What I mean is that I am not so focused on trash now, in fact we make a little bit of it-more than some of our friends. I’ve been trying to take a holistic approach to living, and also have balance in my life. For a while we stopped flushing the toilet with the bath water, and just flushed with the flush and drained the bath water because we were overwhelmed with stuff to do (wash diapers, hang diapers, set baby on potty, empty potty, make meal plans, buy bulk food, make meals, make crackers, cookies, etc. feed baby, walk baby for hours so she will sleep, perhaps sleep myself etc.). I didn’t blog or make music or art for awhile. In the precious hours I finally could sleep, I lay awake in bed thinking about all the stuff I needed to do and all the creative stuff I wanted to do. I think it’s really important to take care of the environment because it’s part of us-it’s a relationship-give a little take a little, but you have to find out where your personal line is and draw it sometimes. Not any one person can “save the world”.
So here’s list of what we do now and we don’t do any more.
We do:
-Use cloths for Aurora’s bum and face and cloth diapers at night or on trips (all other times she is in underpants because we ECed her)
-make our own cleaning supplies from bulk ingredients purchased at Grassroots and refill containers of what we don’t make
-shop in bulk when ever we can
-grow our own food. We’re amateurs but we have quite a bit
-turn lights off and the computer when we are not using it. In fact Kyle and I are always turning the lights off on each other by mistake.
-Use cloth bags for produce when we can and reuse our plastic bags other wise
-still carry cloth grocery bags and never get plastic
-still carry plates and cups for eating on the go
-make the majority of our meals from scratch
-try to buy local and organic (but sometimes end up at No Frills in a pinch)
make our own deoderant, moisturizer and tooth paste and buy recycled toothbrushes
-shop at second hand stores and swap items instead of buying new whenever possible.
Eat real food
-compost
-use clothes that can’t be worn anymore by anyone, as rags

We Don’t:
-always used dried beans, we often use canned now
-always buy bulk- I’d say we still do about 80% of the time but sometimes we get things like nut butter or oil in jars for convenience
-make our own crackers, we buy them in packages
-make Aurora’s toothpaste-she only likes Weleda kids so we get it for her.
-always flush with gray water. Sometimes we just use the flush(although now that Aurora is a bit more independent we are getting back to reusing the water again)
-make our own rice milk or almond milk anymore. We buy the fortified stuff.
-make our own food and buy bulk at all costs. We still do so the majority of the time but, we now take time for ourselves and each other too. I go out in the evenings sometimes. I work on crafts sometimes, even if that means having to eat the same meal three times in a row, have canned soup for supper or shop at No Frills instead of the Farmer’s Market or health food stores.

I’m sure there’s more but that’s all I can think of right now. I’ have two other posts brewing. One about green bin and recycling programs and one about gardening so stay tuned. I should have more posts soon.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where it’s at.

  1. Lara Robson

    Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Appreciate it!Richmond Roofing Service, 6731 Pickett Dr., Richmond, TX 77469 – (281) 973-7855

Leave a Reply

