Yummy and Yucky

Yummy
I’ve been working on the recipes section of my book. It’s been quite fun having to actually measure things out and once I have the quantities I can make the same dish exactly the same, 2 or more times in a row. Wow!
Tonight I made an amazing salad. I didn’t measure anything out so I’ll have to tinker with it, but I’ll pass it on as is for now.
Ingredients
-left over fried veggies (broccoli, carrots, zucchini, onions and garlic)
-pesto (basil, olive oil, sunflower seeds, pine nuts)
-the juice of half a lemon
-salt and pepper
-orzo
Mix together and eat!
I had left over orzo and veggies so it was quick and easy, and very delicious.
Yucky
We live in a house that has been split into apartments. The people upstairs have had visitors for the past 6 months who finally left today. They threw several bags of clothes in the garbage. Aurora and I watched the man of the house go through the bags, take what he wanted and put the rest back in! I’m not upset that he took some-that;s great. I just can’t believe he put the rest back in. Clothes do not need to be in the landfill. The Diabetes Association and Sick Kids come by at least once every few months to collect clothes. I am going to dig them out of the garbage again to donate- even though they are no longer neatly bagged. I may have to launder them now too. I just can’t believe someone would throw good clothes away. I kind of can understand his guests were in a hurry to catch a plane back home and had too much to bring, and may be they didn’t know clothes don’t go in the garbage. But then the upstairs tenant took things out of the neatly packed bags and back into the garbage bin. Why not take the bags out completely and take them somewhere, or leave them on the porch fro pickup? I am baffled. I almost went out to say something, but every time I try to talk to him, he doesn’t speak English anymore, so I didn’t bother.

I’m off to eat some pie and then go dumpster diving in my own backyard!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Yummy and Yucky

  1. Mom

    You are an amazingly inventive cook! Which you didn’t learn from me….

  2. But I did learn caramel pudding and beans on toast from you. Yummmmm:)

  3. Laurie

    Just found you and love your site. Also love the sound of you meal.

    Thanks for the post! We’ll be back.

    Laurie
    ecoki.com

Leave a Reply

