What’s black and white and red all over?

Nope, not a wounded zebra, not a newspaper, it’s….Kyle’s armpit after a week or two of using our homemade deodorant (coconut oil, baking soda and sandal wood). I’m usually the sensitive one, but I’ve had no problem with it. I am going to make up another batch with patchouli instead of sandalwood for K and see if that makes a difference. The funny thing is that he wears sandalwood solid perfume and it doesn’t hurt him. I have the same kind of solid perfume in Vanilla and it burns and leaves red marks. Go figure.
I will be making moisturizer very soon as my oil has been infused with the herbs now. I just have to get some time when the baby is not around to melt the beeswax and heat the oil.
Another exciting update will follow shortly!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “What’s black and white and red all over?

  1. I was/am allergic to The Body Shop’s “hypoallergenic” perfume oil. I’ve also had my armpits react to men’s antiperspirant. I tried some once and my pits didn’t itch, but they turned brown. so weird. lately I’ve been having a hard time finding soap for my face. I’ve got one kind for my body, and one for my face, because the body wash I bought makes my forehead breakout…. oh, skin sensitivities!

  2. Hey Collette
    Thanks for commenting-nice to see you in cyber space.:)

  3. kate

    mmmmmmmm…. i do love an armpit that smells like pit & patchouli… pitchouli!

    Thanks for writing about all these experiments – I am taking notes.

    Hope you and the family are well.

  4. Not sure if Collette will read this, but why use a soap for one’s face?
    I was taught to just use water, from when I was little… (?)

  5. I noticed that this is not the first time at all that you write about the topic. Why have you decided to touch it again?

  6. Ummm I’m not sure what you mean. I have talked quite a bit about the deodorant and other products that we are making, as I share information as I discover it.

Leave a Reply

