Couldn’t do it- had to ‘poo!

I am back to using shampoo-it is bar shampoo and chemical free, so I don’t feel too bad except that it is expensive. I know lots of people love the no poo method despite the name, but the problems I found were:
It takes too long!
I need to be able to shower fast. I soon learned I had to do it every day or I looked like a grease ball and I normally would only wash my hair every 2 or 3 days. Also miing the paste, and waiting and massaging etc., just took too long. we do enough things the long way and we have a toddler. I just didn’t have time
The Smell
I noticed through out the day i either smelled like vinegar or hair. I usually like natural smells. For example I think bodies smell better than perfume, but I don’t like the smell of hair, at least not my hair. I tried putting essential oils in after, but even just a drop turned me back into a grease ball.
So after two weeks I went back to shampoo and I even splurged today and bought conditioner. I am looking for simple recipes to make my own. I will start by looking at the long hair community.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Couldn’t do it- had to ‘poo!

  1. Jen CleanBin

    Oh no! I just ran out of conditioner and was about to make the full switch, but now I’m having second thoughts. I don’t want to smell like either vinegar or hair. At least you found a package-free alternative.

  2. @Jen: give it a try and see what you think. It’s not for everyone, but lots of people wash their hair this way and are quite happy with it. It’s a personal thing. If you try it and don’t like it, then you haven’t really wasted any money and it’s only just a few days’ worth of hair experimentation.

    @Sarah: If you try this again, I would suggest mixing the essential oils with the vinegar before application and see where that gets you. I have an aromatherapy book we can look at to see which oils have properties that would be good for your hair. Haha, you could try rosemary, which is good for certain hair types and would go well with the ACV! Salad hair, ahoy! *grins*

    Oh, and another idea for application: when I was trying this, I did the 1tbs BS to 1 cup water method, so there was no paste. You could easily change up the proportions, make it all before hand in multiple-shower quantities and put it in a squirt bottle or in a hair-dye applicator bottle, which would help with saving time.

    • Thanks K! I was late replying, but I wanted to say: Jen, don’t be discouraged because of me. I have heard nothing but good things about the baking soda and vinegar method. I was tring it just to save money, as I already get chemical free, package-free hair care (solid shampoo at Lush and Giovanni conditioner in bulk at the Big Carrot). Please give it (no ‘poo)a try and let me know how it goes.

  3. CT

    I think the softness of your water might also play a role. I gave it a try last year, expecting total failure, and was absolutely thrilled with the results. I’ve used a tablespoon of baking soda in water, followed by a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar in water (I just hold the cups up under the showerhead) for the past year, with the exception of a week vacation in Vermont. The water was really soft, and my hair was incredibly greasy. I tried for three days, and then gave up. But definitely give it a try!

    As for the vinegar smell, for me it goes away when my hair dries. My husband complains when my hair is wet, but he has no objections the rest of the time (and I would certainly hear if he had objections).

  4. Pingback: What is the one item you can’t live without? « Say No to Trash

  5. Pingback: soft as a baby’s…hair! « Say No to Trash

Leave a Reply

