I really dislike the name but….

I finally tried the No Poo Method. I wish they had come up with a better name, like shampoo free, or chemical free or something. No poo is just all wrong. It seems like some weird Depro Provera for the digestive system. Any how, it’s not. It just means washing your hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar instead of shampoo.
I was a shampoo and conditioner addict so I started by just cutting out conditioner, with surprisingly good results. Then 2 days ago I tried No Poo, and so far so good. My hair looks shiny and healthy and still smells good too. It was a bit static-y today but t’is the season for that really.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I really dislike the name but….

  1. Mom

    How about calling it “No Soap”?
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Jen CleanBin

    So, do you scrub with baking soda and then rinse with vinegar? And does it have to be apple cider vinegar?

  3. Yes, yes. See my DIY hygiene post for more details.

  4. Hey Sarah, I’ve been a fan of the no-poo for a while. Check out the website longhaircommunity.com for a TON of resources about chemical-free hair care, lots of other recipes besides the baking soda-apple cider one.

    I personally use a shampoo-bar (totally natural) that is wonderful, from http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandcraft.com/

    …and, their packaging is only brown-paper wrapping, no plastic!

    Jen Brown

  5. i second the longhaircommunity. so awesome! that’s where I learned about doing the opposite of what you did — opting to use only conditioner instead of shampoo.

    the LHC (er, long hair community NOT large hadron collider! lol!) will help you figure out how to deal with flyaway, staticky hair and all sorts of other hair issues.

  6. Thanks a lot J and K. I will look there for more recipes.

Leave a Reply

