More DIY Hygiene

Ok I’m going to make a blanket statement here-maybe even two. Marketers are intelligent  and ruthless and they know who to target and how.

Parents, especially new ones are tired and nervous and want the best for their babies so they make an awesome target. For some reason, I thought it would be best for Aurora to have store bought toothpaste, so I buy Welleda natural Childrens toothpaste for her. I just did some research though, and their is no reason she can’t have our home made toothpaste. She may not like the peppermint flavour, but we can make it with other essential oils to suit her taste.

In my last post, I forgot to mention facial cleanser. My skin is both dry and sensitive and even though I’m in my thirties, I am still prone to break outs. I spend quite a bit on cleanser and they just stopped making my favorite kind, so it’s a perfect time to experiment with making my own. A lot of recipes I’ve come across (like the one’s for hair) are one time use, time consuming treatments. I don;t have that kind of time anymore, so I need a recipe for something I can make up and keep, preferably not in the fridge. I found this recipe and will try it next week.
Thyme-to-Wash Cleanser

Reduces puffiness and irritation while gently toning skin.
Ingredients

* 1/2 Tbsp dried thyme
* 2 tsp crushed fennel seeds
* 1/2 cup boiling water
* 1/2 lemon, juiced

Instructions

Stir together thyme and fennel seeds, cover with boiling water. Add lemon juice, let steep 15 minutes. Store in airtight container in the refrigerator. Use a cotton ball to dab onto face each morning, and rinse.
I’ll let you know how it goes. Any one else have simple cleanser recipes to share?
Back to marketing, I just bought all natural cough drops for my cold because I felt I needed them. They come from Switzerland (ouch on the fossil fuels) and they are very packaged. I am currently drinking my special cold buster “tea” and I realized I don’t need the cough drops at all. Here’s the “tea” recipe.
1 mug of hot water
1 tbsp grated ginger
1 or 2 tbsp honey
1 or 2 lemon slices.
I drink it when I’m not sick too because I like it so much. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under baby, personal care

3 responses to “More DIY Hygiene

  1. Mom

    Remember the citrus tea we used to get in Korea? We found some in a Chinese store here in Edmonton. We are just finishing a jar of pear/ginger tea. It is very tasty too.
    Love,
    Mom

  2. I forgot all about that. Hmmm it was good. Does it just come in a glass jar? It’s not individually wrapped? I also liked the powdered hazel nut drink but it was very very packaged. I think each serving had it’s own bag and then every five were in another pag and you got 20 in another bag, in a box.

  3. I have found my facial cleanser holy grail. And I was, for many years, very acne prone – haven’t had a zit since. It’s oil! I use a water-soluble oil cleanser and I’m downright missionary about it. I think it could easily be made at home. Email me if you want info!

Leave a Reply

