DIY hygiene

I’m so sorry it’s been more than a month since I’ve blogged! Life got in the way again and I just haven’t had the time. In fact, I’m sacrificing a nap to be with you now!

Some of you may know that we are not rich, but now more than ever, things are quite tight.  For the sake of saving some green while being green, I’ve been trying to make more of our personal products. It doesn’t always mean no garbage because sometimes the ingredients have safety coverings on the bottles or the likes, but I think it ends up being less than buying all the finished products. You may also know we have no time, so I’ve been trying to find the simplest recipes possible. Here’s a bunch:

Baby Wipe Solution

I  spend $14 a bottle on diaper wipe solution to put on wash cloths for Aurora, and I’m sure making it myself would be cheaper. My friend  makes her own and I thought I had the recipe, but I can’t find it. Perhaps she will post it in the comment section (hint, hint). Here’s  a bunch of nice looking ones I found at http://www.naturalbirthandbabycare.com/
Baby Wash Recipe #1

* 2 TBSP Baby Wash (choose a natural wash!)
* 2 TBSP Olive Oil
* 2 Cups water

Mix well in a spray bottle or your wipes box. Spritz on wipe before using if in spray bottle. Swish solution around over wipes if using a wipes box.

Baby Wash Recipe #2

* 2 TBSP Baby Wash
* 2 TBSP Olive Oil or 1 TBSP Calendula Oil
* 2 Drops Tea Tree Oil
* 2 Cups Water

Mix well in a spray bottle or your wipes box. Spritz on wipe before using if in spray bottle. Swish solution around over wipes if using a wipes box. Tea Tree Oil has lovely disinfectant properties along with its wonderful, clean smell.

Aloe Vera Recipe

* 1/4 Cup Aloe Vera Gel
* 2 Drops Tea Tree Oil
* 2 Cups Hot Water

Stir or shake until this recipe is well mixed. Don’t use until the mixture cools. Spritz on wipe before using if in spray bottle. Swish solution around over wipes if using a wipes box.

Vitamin E and Essential Oils Recipe

* 2 Drops Tea Tree Oil
* 2 Drops Lavender Oil (Please be sure to use only pure essential oils – don’t use synthetic oils.)
* 2 Drops Chamomile Oil
* 2 Cups Water
* 1 Vitamin E Cap

Cut open vitamin E caplet and squeeze into the water, and add essential oil drops. Mix well in a spray bottle or your wipes box. Spritz on wipe before using if in spray bottle.

I am just about out of the Lynae’s Naturals that I bought at Grass Roots, so I will need to make some soon. I will likely go with the first recipe because it’s so simple

Moisturizers or creams
My skin is quite dry and sensitive, and so is Aurora’s. I’m quite excited about this recipe. There are a few on this site that I would like to try.

skin moisturizer

Ginger Skin Creme
This recipe is courtesy of www.Spaindex.com

Ginger invigorates, and oil soothes. Try this double dose for dry skin.

  • 2-inch piece of fresh ginger

  • 2 teaspoons light sesame oil

  • 2 teaspoons apricot kernel oil

  • 2 teaspoons vitamin E oil

  • ½ cup cocoa butter

Preheat oven on lowest setting. Finely grate the ginger just enough so that you have about an 1/8 teaspoon of ginger “juice.” To obtain the juice, squeeze the freshly grated ginger over a small bowl. Place the ingredients (including the ginger) in a glass container and heat just until the cocoa butter is melted and the oils are blended. Pour into a clean, dry container and store in a cool dry place. You can add a few drops of orange or other essential oil for a nice twist.

I love this site and can’t wait to try the following body butter. I already have almost all the ingredients!
1/4 cup of rose water
1/4 cup of glycerin
2 tbs witch hazel
1 tbs of almond oil

mix all the ingredients together and store in an airtight container.

Toothpaste
I’ve blogged about this before but thought it deserved another mention. I use:
6 tablespoons baking soda (whitener)
1 pinch salt (mild abrasive)
4 tbsp vegetable glycerin (to create the gel)
5 drops of organic essential oil
Mix together in a small reusable container.

Deodorant

I use the hippy stuff from Lush, but it is quite expensive, so I’m going to try my friend’s recipe(yes it’s the same friend as before-she is awesome and perhaps she should be doing this post:)
Baking soda, coconut oil and sandle wood. Mix together to desired consistency and apply.

Shampoo and conditioner or No-poo
Most of the shampoo and conditioner recipes are a bit labour intensive so I’m trying to work up to the NO-Poo method. I’ve been hearing about it for years and I would like to give it a try.

Most of these home-made products would also make lovely Christmas gifts (hint hint). thanks to all the other bloggers who posted these recipes. Please let me know if you have tried them, and I will keep you posted as soon as I try each one. Also I’d love to hear comments, suggestions and other recipes on this topic.

Talk to you soon,

Sarah

4 Comments

Filed under baby, personal care, recipes

4 responses to “DIY hygiene

  1. Hi Sarah, thanks for the ping! You really need to try the No-Poo. I’m going to try your toothpaste recipe with some Peppermint Essential Oil. Great blog, keep up the good (green) work!

  2. hahaha! thanks for the compliment 🙂

    here is the baby wipe recipe I use:
    Castile Solution
    1 tablespoon almond, apricot, or other oil
    1 tablespoon Dr Bronner’s Baby/Mild Liquid Castile Soap
    2 drops tea tree oil
    1 drop lavender oil
    1 cup water

    got it from here: http://www.zany-zebra.com/cloth-wipe-solution.shtml

    The deodorant recipe that I use is made in smallish batches that last a long time. I rarely measure, so I’m just guessing here. I think I have used 4tsp baking soda to 3 tsp coconut oil, plus 2-3 drops of sandalwood essential oil.

    The baking soda is for deodorizing; the coconut oil has antibacterial qualities, which help mitigate the stink. The sandalwood also has antibacterial qualities, plus, it smells nice. I’ve also used patchouli for its antibacterial qualities, but the bottle I had was old and the oil was too viscous to use, so I stopped. Plus, I was tired of the dreadlocks=patchouli stereotype, even though I like the smell. Patchouli and sandalwood both go well together, so you can use both, if you’d like.

    Most essential oils would work well in the deodorant recipe, though I would advise against ginger or cinnamon or peppermint because they can all be skin irritants (particularly cinnamon! burning armpits is no way to start the day!).

    Speaking of which, I’m hesitant about the body butter recipe you posted. Ginger is a rubefacient, which means it stimulates the circulation on the area of contact. Great for things like arthritis, but because it stimulates circulation, it can also irritate your skin. I would use that ingredient with caution. The rest of it looks fantastic!

    And the No-Poo method is great once you get the hang of it. I use baking soda on my scalp without the vinegar, but I have dreads, so I don’t need the conditioning, since I want hair that locks up easily. It’ll take you a bit of experimentation before you figure out how much ACV to use and how much baking soda.

    The last time I washed my hair before the dreads were put in, I used the No Poo Method with astounding success. My hair looked so amazing that I was almost sad I’d be locking it up later that day. Glad I have photos!

  3. definitely try the no-poo method! i wrote about my experience here.

  4. Thanks for the info and recipes Kettunianen. I knew about cinnamon being an irritant but not ginger. In fact, a certain sweet boy I know was in a lot a pain because he had a bath with cinnamon essentail oil. Ouch!
    I will try the NO Poo method-especailly since it comes so highly recommended. The only reason I am hesitant is that I love the way my hair smells after shampooing and conditioning and I don’t think vinegar will be the same. I found some nice recipes for hair oils- like a finishing product, so maybe I’ll try that too.

Leave a Reply

