Garbloggers

A few months ago, I discovered I was part of a group I didn’t even know about. I don’t have to pay dues or fees; I didn’t need to sign up; and I somehow made it on the end of some top ten lists! I’m talking about Garbloggers-people who blog about garbage. There are a growing number of them/us and many of them are writing to me saying “where the #^&# are you? It’s been almost 2 months since a post, mate!
So I’ll answer the question first. I’ve been in Overwhelmedville Canada. We gave our notice on June 1st, which means we need to move on August 1st and we still haven’t found a place to live! So we’ve been looking, and trying to pack, and visiting with family along with trying to run a reduced garbage home with a 9 month old. EEEEEK! I’m still happy with our decision to use elimination communication and cloth diapers with her, and to make all her food, but it is a lot of work. Perhaps it would be OK if we ever got more than 2 hours of sleep in a row as well, but we don’t, and we don’t want to let her “cry it out”, so that’s that.
Oh and about a week after my last post, I wrote a big long post about food, called food food glorious food. I forgot to save it in a different format, published it, and it never appeared. The computer ate it. I was so disappointed that I just couldn’t rewrite it for a few days and then my opportunity to blog at all vanished! So there’s my sad story.
Now on to the garbloggers. The world is a changing folks. People all around the globe are going trash/rubbish/garbage free in their own homes and writing about their experiences. Here are some of them:

http://myzerowaste.com/
http://www.therubbishdiet.co.uk
http://www.rubbishishfreeyear.co.nz.
http://www.fakeplasticfish.com.
http://www.everydaytrash.com
And here’s one of the top ten lists I made it too, with some other links as well:
http://blogs.takepart.com/2008/04/03/top-10-garbloggers-talkin-trash/
And just to kick my butt, many of them also have children. So much for my winjing about how hard it is to have no garbage and recycling with a baby. I have to confess our recycling pile has gotten out of hand though. So many cans of soup and pizza boxes for supper!
I really will rewrite the food post soon, as well as an exciting blog about the deception of mass composting/recycling. Dun dun dun! Thanks for staying tuned. I will try to be more…yawn…diligent about the…yawn sleeping, I mean blogging!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Garbloggers

  1. AnnieinSF

    It is CRAZY hard to create no garbage and raise a baby. You are great inspiration! Hope the move works well for you. Am looking forward to more posts.

  2. Welcome to the club. I’ve got you on my blogroll, hope you’ll do the same.

Leave a Reply

