2 for one!

Today you get two posts for the price of one! The first is…dun dun dun dah:

Corn Patties

We bought 4 cobs of corn and then got given 12! There’s only 2 of us and it’s been too hot to cook. Yesterday we cooked some corn at the neighbors (they’re away and we’re fish sitting). Today it cooled down so, I’m making a delicious supper out of corn, of course, and it’s garbage free! Here’s the recipe and how to make it garbage free. It’s not my own, I got it from recipezaar and altered it a bit.

time to make 20 min 10 min prep

makes about 10 patties

 

4 cobs of corn, cut off the cobs
1 medium onion, chopped
1 bunch of curry powder
2 cloves garlic, crushed or pressed
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 chopped scallion
4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 bunch of salt
2 large eggs
4 tablespoons oil

All of the ingredients can be purchased garbage-free. Compost the cobs and “clothing” off the corn, or make art from it. The other veggies can all be bought loose, and the extra parts composted or put in the freezer to make soup stock with. Spices can be bought at bulk stores like: Etherea, Tutti Fruiti, or Essence of Life. Don’t forget to bring your own container and get them to weigh it first! Olive oil can be purchased in bulk at Dufferin Grove Market on Thursdays and so can eggs.

Ok here’s how to make the yummy corn patties.

 

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, mash the corn lightly.
  2. Add each of the remaining ingredients except for the oil, one at a time, mixing each one thoroughly with the batter.
  3. Blend a bit with a hand held mixer if you have one.
  4. Heat oil over medium-high heat.
  5. Drop patties by spoonful into skillet.
  6. Allow to cook 5-10 minutes, turning once, or until golden brown on each side.
  7. (Do not turn over too early, or they will fall apart).
  8. Serve with a little salsa or sauce of choice.
  9. Enjoy!

And now for the second Exciting topic…..(drum roll) ….

Treasure Hunt!

Yesterday we had a lazy day and then went treasure hunting. We found a kids book in someone’s yard with a sign that said free, then we found a cart for $4 at a garage sale. Now I can push or pull my groceries home. It’s getting too heavy to carry groceries and my great big belly. I love getting stuff free and at yard sales because there is no packaging at all, no even price tags!

Then we went on to some thrift stores, got rid of a bag of stuff we weren’t using and bought 5 pairs of pants (4 for Kyle, one for me), 2 dresses(for me), a teapot ( I broke our old one), and a great book for collages, all for the low low price of $47! It was a good day. The only garbage we got were the little plastic doohickies that hold the price tags on the clothes, only there weren’t any price tags on the clothes (mystery?).

2 Comments

Filed under fun, recipes, shopping(not groceries)

2 responses to “2 for one!

  1. Hi, I found you on “No Impact Man”. Seems like a great project/blog. I’m not in Toronto, but Japan, though I’m a Bluenoser originally. I really love any tips for reducing garbage, something I’m trying hard to do more of.

    Probably you know, but just thought I’d mention, that you can smash up that teapot into pieces and use them for drainage in the bottom of plant pots.
    🙂

  2. I didn’t know that! Thank you! I had just broke the lid, which I’ll do that with and I thought of may be planting a plant in the teapot.

Leave a Reply

