Bye Bye Bees?

Warning

*** Once again I am going to go on a little rant not exactly related to garbage (but it could be)***

Perhaps I have read too many science fiction novels for my own good, but I really think the fact that the bees are dying off rapidly should be much bigger news. Yesterday I read about it in the Epoch Times and I’ve been doing more research on it today. There is info out there but it’s not front page. Why? Doesn’t this affect the whole world a lot more than the latest murder or who won the hockey game?
Basically all over the US, and now also in Canada and Europe, Bees aren’t coming back to their hives. For the first time in history(*this is actually questionable, some people think it has happened before but just not on such a grand scale), the bees are abandoning their queen. They are leaving and not coming back ever-they appear to be dying. Not only does this affect bee keepers, but many crops (apples, almonds, oranges, avocodos, celery) depend on bees for pollination. I was even more alarmed when I read that Albert Einstien had said” If the bee disappeared off the surface of the globe, than man would only have 4 years left to live”. I googled that  quote and was lead to an urban legends site, which says that Einstein never actually said that. So, I am a bit confused. It still seems to me that bees dying out is a big deal, because whether Einstein said it or not, bees do pollinate the crops and without the crops, can we survive? But if the bees really are disappearing, it is a grave enough situation in itself. Why put false words in Einstein’s mouth and discredit the whole situation?

7 Comments

Filed under environmental news

7 responses to “Bye Bye Bees?

  1. I agree that this is a problem that should be drawing more attention. Everything else should be dropped until it is solved. I’m not Einstein but I know that the bees are important.

  2. I’m glad to see you’re raising this issue, and I’m not alone in being disturbed… Come on no almonds, apples or avocados? This is freakin’ serious.
    Add to the fact that we have a lot to learn from bees- they’re very sophisticated little creatures. They make homes from their own bodies for gosh sakes!

    Any thoughts on what we as individuals can do?

  3. Aimee
    In this case, I have no idea what we as individuals can do, short from try and demand the truth since many of the stories seem to be convoluded. I guess you could try and avoid doing all the things that perhaps have caused the problem, but likely you do already (don’t use cellphones, pesticides, cars etc.)

  4. Jen

    If it helps any, Tom Allen mentioned it on his CBC Radio 2 morning show Music and Company today…

  5. I mentioned this bit on hipmama – but it is relevant here too. Buying organic (and preferably local) honey *and* ensuring the products containing honey that we purchase are all organic can help. Organic bees don’t seem to be suffering this colony collapse – which to many of us comes as both a great relief and no great surprise.
    From An article from the Organic Consumers Association website

  6. Also – “they” think the problem may be linked to a widely used pesticide imidacloprid (source: Kalamazoo Gazette). So buying organic produce is important, too.

  7. Kate: I discovered that when I visited friends who are beekeepers who haven’t been affected at all. I thought it might be a pesticide or medicine of some kind. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

