Dear Coke, please change your trashy ways

My apologies for not posting in so long. I have quite a bit of news though. First of all, I found a few brands of frozen desserts that only come in recyclable packaging-no extra plastic bits. Most brands of soy ice cream, including Tuffuti is safe (but not for me, as I am allergic to soy). Also, Nestle Sundaes come in #1 recyclable plastic containers, with a built in safety seal of the same plastic. I find them too sweet for my taste though. My favorite so far has been Sobey’s brand Compliments sherbert, which comes in a yogurt type container with no extra plastic seal. Yummy. Also I have been making my own smoothie-Popsicles. I don’t know why I forgot about them before. I use Pine Hedge Farms Yogurt that comes in a glass bottle I can return for a deposit and they will reuse it again, berries, and juice. I blend it all up, pour it in Popsicles holders and voila, I have my own garbage free frozen dessert (as long as the berries and the fruit didn’t have stickers or packaging). I have to admit that I have been using frozen berries lately and they do come in a bag.

I have, for the first time in my life, been frequently buying PowerAde, as it helps to prevent the nausea and puking that comes with my pregnancy. I have recently discovered that if I get the smaller bottles(591ml), there is no pure garbage-just a recyclable bottle and cap. The problem is they cost way more than the 710ml bottles that come with a strange nipple type cap and two safety seals. The small bottles are $1.95 and the larger ones are $1.59. You can get a six pack of the small ones for $4.99 but it comes with those brutal plastic holders plus a plastic wrapping. You save money by creating garbage. It baffles my mind. I have just been paying the extra to avoid the packaging, but I don’t know many people who could or would and I think it is ridiculous that I have to. Power Aid is made by Coca Cola so I don’t really feel that a letter would make a difference. I also wish I wasn’t supporting that company, but it is the only thing that I can consistently keep down. Other brands of Sports drink and Pedialite for children don’t cut it. It needs to be PowerAde (preferably blue).

Oh, I threw another bag of garbage out on April 12th, three weeks after the first bag, which was three weeks after our no garbage month, so it seems on average we throw out a grocery bag every three weeks. That’s more than I’d hoped but I blame the nausea.

5 Comments

Filed under groceries, project rules, tips, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Dear Coke, please change your trashy ways

  1. Anna

    I continue to be in awe of your commitment to this lifestyle, especially in light of your current “condition”.

    Would regular gatorade do? My husband and I buy a container of the powder for hiking, which makes quite a bit. You would then only have the one plastic container or pouch (foil? may not be recyclable) to consider. It can be found in some grocery stores and online at REI.

  2. Jen

    You save money by creating garbage. It baffles my mind. I have just been paying the extra to avoid the packaging, but I don’t know many people who could or would and I think it is ridiculous that I have to.

    Completely with you on this one. I’ve started paying more for yoghurt that comes in glass jars because they don’t recycle the plastic ones (it ‘costs too much’, a phrase which makes me cringe and want to rant about the real cost), but not everyone can do that, and I certainly couldn’t keep it up if I bought yoghurt regularly.

    A letter to Coke might help, if only it got to the right person, and contained lots of things about Corporate Social Responsibility and (the all-important) cost effectiveness (because I really couldn’t imagine that more packaging really does make things cheaper!)… but on the other hand, I’d hate to see get into the wrong hands and someone try to sue your blog for some reason. :-S

    Anyway, continued luck, as always, and in your ‘more than you’d hoped’ thought, did you factor in your pregnancy? Early days and one grocery bag of garbage every three weeks is pretty darn good in my books! 🙂

  3. Anna
    Unfortunately GatorAde doesn’t work. I noticed it came in powder form but nothing except Powerade works for me.
    Jen
    I buy the yoghurt in glass jars too.even though you can recycle the plastic ones here, reusing is always better. The price isn’t higher once I get the deposit back, but perhaps it’s different where you are. Are you in Regina? Oh and I’m also comparing to other organic yoghurt.

  4. I can’t believe I haven’t stumbled across your blog until now! And you’re a fellow Torontonian! This is great stuff… blogrolling you now over at my site… I’m about to search for ways to compost in an apartment (I don’t get the green bin program, unfortunately). I know worms are the way to go for less stinkiness, but I’m nervous (and squeamish) about setting the whole thing up. Any recommended links that explain in VERY simple terms how to do this? KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

  5. Grass Roots Store has worms and lots of info too! I think you have to call ahead for them. http://www.grassrootsstore.com

Leave a Reply

