I have to get my butt in gear and write a book!

My friend Nathan sent me this link on noimpactman. It’s pretty amazing stuff. Basically, 43 year old author-man decides to try and make absolutely no eco-footprint for a year and write a book about it. It’s way more extreme than this project was and he was way less of a hippie than I when he started. Amazing, commendable stuff! Do check it out! For a little teaser, here’s a quote from the Star article:

“Colin Beavan, 43, a writer of historical nonfiction, and Michelle Conlin, 39, a senior writer at Business Week, are four months into a yearlong lifestyle experiment they call No Impact. Its rules are evolving, as Mr. Beavan will tell you, but to date include eating only food (organically) grown within a 250-mile radius of Manhattan; (mostly) no shopping for anything except said food; producing no trash (except compost, see above); using no paper; and, most intriguingly, using no carbon-fueled transportation.”

And, they have a 2 year old daughter, oh, and a dog!!!!! HOLY CRAP!!!!! It’s so inspiring. It means, we can still be environmentally friendly when we have the baby! Every body seems to think it’s going to pop out wrapped in styrofoam and we are going to have to drop all our morals once we have the little sprout. This family proves to me that we can do it! They don’t just draw the line at garbage either-it’s everything.

He had no problem getting a publishing deal. Granted, he was already an established author, but hey I think I can do it. I’m going to write a “say no to trash” book. Yeee haw! “Inspiration, it’s what you are to me. Ih-inspiration look and see!”

On another topic, I added a few more pictures to the photos page so check it out again.

6 Comments

Filed under inspiration, tips

6 responses to “I have to get my butt in gear and write a book!

  1. Anna

    I saw this guy’s project a couple of days ago. I thought it was neat but I don’t like his title “No Impact Man”, because 1) he’s not making no impact by any means and 2) his family is doing it too. He should call it “Less Impact Family”.

    I think you would write an awesome book. I wonder what the most environmentally friendly publishing method would be?

  2. sweetdumpling

    i’m going to check out that link. it is amazing and inspiring to see that there are others out there making a HUGE effort for the environment.
    you should totally write a book. i would buy it for sure!!!

  3. Blair

    unrelated to noimpactman (and yes, it bugged me that noimpactlady was doing just as much work, but didn’t get title credits too) but perhaps of interest to you:

    San Fransisco banned plastic bags!

    http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/03/28/ap/national/main2618892.shtml

  4. Kyle sent me that plastic bag link too. I hope the ban works. About noimpactman, it’s all semantics really. I agree his wife and daughter should get some credit, so noimpactfam would be better. My project isn’t really nomoregarbage, it was nogarbage for one month, but that wasn’t as catchy. Apparently, no more garbage isn’t catchy enough wither as people keep trying to change it to Zero Trash. Anyway, think of diaper-free too- not about going without diapers at all. It should be called potty training from birth or less diapers or something. Ahhh language, how it never fails to disappoint me! I wonder if it would be any better if we were all telepathic.

  5. Sarah

    You’re beautiful! I love you!

    I know what you mean when you say “Every body seems to think [the baby is] going to pop out wrapped in styrofoam and we are going to have to drop all our morals once we have the little sprout.”

    I work at a video rental store, and this one woman rented 2 movies for her twin toddlers. she asked me for 2 plastic bags, because each kid wanted to carry their own movie. so I said, “isn’t that bad for the environment?” she froze, glared at me, and said “let’s see how much you care about the environment when YOU have twins!!!” so i gave her the 2 bags. she put one movie in each, and ended carrying both bags out of the store because the kids didn’t want to carry them themselves. GAH!!!

    write a book! i will buy it!!!

Leave a Reply

