Perogi making and shopping

I have had a productive few days. Please knock on wood for me as you read this… I haven’t puked! Instead, yesterday I made pierogies with my friend Akami. It’s very time consuming. She worked very hard all day and I worked pretty hard too, but I took breaks. There were a few left over pierogies that I am eating now, but we already cooked them and they are not very good reheated. Next time I am going to invite more people and have a pierogi making party. Here’s the recipe. We used separate filling and dough recipes so the amounts don’t match up. I would suggest at least doubling the dough recipe. Also, I didn’t have any eggs so I used Kingsmill Foods Egg Replacer. Since we had so much filling left over, but no more wheat flour, I invited my gluten-free friend over and made some more dough with a combination of rice flour, chickpea flour and tapioca flour. It was much harder to work with and kept cracking. I think I should have put another “egg” in. To make garbage free pierogies, make sure you buy the ingredients at bulk food stores with your own bag. I got organic Canadian Chedder at Cheese Magic, without any packaging at all, though if you get down to the nitty gritty it probably came in plastic that they threw out at the store.

Pierogi Filling from All Recipes


INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 pounds mashed potatoes
  • 1 pound shredded Cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Pierogi dough

(RecipeZaar)Recipe #79860

This makes the classic dough for Polish dumplings, which can be filled with potato and cheese, cabbage, or other fillings

by iguana
1¼ hours 1 hour prep

Ingredients

2 cups flour,1 egg , 1/2 cup warm water , 1tsp salt, 2 tbsp oil

Directions 

 

  1. Mix all ingredients together lightly in bowl.

  2. Knead until smooth.

  3. Let rest, covered, 30 minutes.

  4. Using half of the dough at a time, roll out to 1/8 inch thickness.

  5. Cut circles with biscuit cutter or floured glass.

  6. Fill with a golf-ball sized hunk of filling (described separately), pinch to seal.

  7. Boil 5-8 minutes, until floating.

  8. Fry in butter until crisp.

We also made cookies to snack on while we cooked. I never measure when I make these cookies so I can tell you what’s in them, but not how much. It’s ground almonds, rice flour, maple syrup, oil, cinnamon, and sesame seeds (although I accidentally used flax and it turned out fine). I just mix it all together and then form round cookie shapes on an oiled baking pan. Make a little dent with a spoon in the middle of each one and put jam or apple butter in it. Bake for about 10 minutes at 250. Surprisingly they always turn out for me (I’m knocking on wood again). My friends keep telling me I should market them, but I can’t because they are basically Kristine’s Energy circles. I just looked at the ingredients list to make them. I use jam instead of apple butter, but they are basically the same.

Today I met Roy Fernandes and some of his grade seven students in Kensington Market and we did my shopping. It was fun and they had many amazing questions. At My Market Bakery, Roy bought each of us a cookie which the clerk put directly into our hands. Unfortunately, we didn’t catch her before she used a piece of waxed paper, so I brought it home to put in the Green Bin. I previously thought it wasn’t accepted, but fortunately I was wrong. Some of the girls (students) discovered that Essence of Life has Organic Yogurt in glass containers that you pay a deposit on, and get back when you return them! I’m quite excited about that, but I forget the name of the company who makes it, so I’ll find out and post it ASAP.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under groceries, recipes, tips, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

