Come on Baby, Loosen up

The biggest challenge with the garbage project lately was that I thought I was pregnant but I didn’t want to get a test because it would produce garbage. I mean really, how can I reuse a plastic stick that has my urine on it? I finally gave in and got a blood test, which according to my sister was the better choice because our magic pee plays tricks with the urine tests. My mom was 6 months pregnant with me and still testing negative! Anyhow the Doctor wrote a note on the form so the laboratory would call me directly with the results. They didn’t, and I was dying to know when I was going to stop throwing up, so I called them. After a few different transfers, I was told the answer was 53946. Ummmmm, thanks? I felt like I had stepped into the hitch hikers guide to the galaxy. They wouldn’t tell me any more so I called my doctor and the receptionist said she was glad I called because the doctor really wanted to talk to me and I should make two appointments (gulp). I have one at 2:45 this afternoon. In the meantime I started researching on the good ol'(new) internet. I discovered that blood tests assess hCG levels and if there is any at all, it’s a pretty good sign you are pregnant. The amount I had means I’m about about 6 weeks along.

When I got the blood test two days ago, I decided that if I was indeed pregnant I would loosen my no garbage project rules a bit and make an exception for medical garbage. That means the band-aid didn’t could and I’m on day 16. Yaaaaay! I still don’t really know-my research could be wrong, so I would post this until I get back from the doctor and also discuss it with all the appropriate people.

****It’s the next day now- day 17, and the doctor said yes I am 6 weeks pregnant. So now the project has 2.1 participants. Kyle, me and sprout.

9 Comments

Filed under doctor, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Come on Baby, Loosen up

  1. chelsea

    well congratulations!
    I also wanted to say that what you are doing is totally amazing, important and inspiring. I think that you have probably impacted a lot of people’s consciousness, even to a small degree and that is a great thing.

  2. Congrats! That’s funny, actually… “Sprout” was the in-utero name for our first child.

  3. Anna

    omg! omg! omg! omg! omg! omg! Congratulations! I can’t believe it! omg!

  4. What fantastic news! Congratulations to you and Kyle.

  5. Ken A

    Congratulations! I’m sure you’ll have fun telling the story of how you found out about this conception to him/her when he/she gets old enough.

    My best wishes to all 2.1 of you with the no-garbage project. You’ve inspired my Mom to try going a month without buying anything new, other than life essentials. This is an important project – keep going!

  6. Jessica

    Oh – good for you!!! Sprout – that’s just too darn cute… best of luck with your pregnancy and the continuing awesomeness of no trash.

    I’m not sure if it would meet your requirements or not, but there’s a company called gdiapers that you could/should look into. They are a green company and their diapers are reusable-ish and flushable.

  7. blair

    Wow, Sarah! That’s incredibly exciting! You and Kyle will be such amazingly wonderful parents…and you’re the first good friend of mine to be having a baby. I look forward to showering the sprout with garbage-free, organic cotton, handmade presents!

    I love you!

  8. J

    that is great news. you will be awesome parents (I think so anyhow…from what I know of you from Regina folks & this blog!).
    Congrats!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

