What and Why?

I tried to explain what this project is about in the ABOUT section, but I still get a lot of questions so I thought I should expand. I am an interdisciplinary artist and as well as being a lifestyle change and an environmental choice-this project is performance art.*

That’s where the extremism comes in. If it was just about the environment, we probably wouldn’t chose to make ZERO garbage no matter what, because sometimes the no matter what is not the best choice for the environment or our health. Example:

We reject the Harmony organic milk in re-useable bottles because of a small plastic safety seal, and instead make rice or almond milk. Neither rice nor almonds can be grown locally and have to be shipped from abroad causing pollution and numerous other environmental horrors. Harmony Organics works very hard for the environment and the community and it’s not really proactive to be talking our business away from them.

The goal of the project is to get 31 concecutive days (one month) without creating any garbage. Kyle and I attempted to do this for two years and didn’t succeed in getting a month garbage free. We got 2 black garbage bags bags in two years. At that time, the rule was, if we got garbage, we would keep it and try to make it into something else. At the end of the two years we ended up with the two bags that we through out, plus a number of collages made from the garbage. Mine look like garbage but Kyle’s are very successful and he has given some to friends as well. We are both doing the project but we have different rules.

KYLE: Make no garbage for 31 days. Recycling is OK. Incidental garbage that can be made into something else is OK. If garbage occurs that has no other possible use, or that gets thrown out before it has a chance(like at a restaurant), the clock starts over.

SARAH: Make absolutely no garbage for 31 days consecutively. Even if the garbage can be made into something else, the clock starts over. Recycling is limited to one 6 litre contaniner for the duration of the project (not just the 31 successful days, but how ever long it takes to get there.) I had originally thought I would wear all the garbage that I made, but my friends talked me out of it because they said I have enough guilt and I don’t need a hair shirt.

I have recently had to go to the doctor, and learned that I will need to go quite a few more times in the next little while so I have decided to make an exception for medical garbage that I can’t avoid. 

*Just to expand, here are two art in life performance artists, that have influenced me the most. I will try to add more soon and may be even put some of my past work somewhere you can see it.

1 Comment

Filed under art, project rules

One response to “What and Why?

  1. Jen

    I put my medical garbage comment in the blood test post below, but I’m still trying to decide if something like the medical industry isn’t going a bit too far with its garbage production. Yes, health is of utmost importance, but is there an irony in having our good health affect our environment which in turn affects… yes, our health? Just musing…

Leave a Reply

