DARN!

I finally updated Trashless Toronto!!! I posted all about grocery shopping so you should click there now! I also updated “In the Bathroom”, because I had forgotten to talk about deodorant!

Today, Yasir from “This Hour” came by. It was quite fun. I have to admit that I was disappointed that we didn’t get to meet George Stromboloupolos, but it’s cool that we will be on his show, and in the same episode as David Suzuki. When we first started this project a few years ago, I e-mailed the David Suzuki Foundation because he is a hero of mine. They didn’t seem to really read the email at all, but they responded. My email started with “Hi, I’m Sarah McGaughey and I live in Toronto….” and went on to talk about the project and problems I was having.  I was hoping they would have some solutions. Instead they started their response “Hi Sarah. We don’t know where you are from, but maybe this would help” and gave me the Vancouver BC waste management phone number. How disappointing! I realize they are quite busy and their focus is not garbage. In fact, David Suzuki admitted to buying coffee in Styrofoam. Apparently his daughter is the big “no garbage” advocate. May be I should try to talk to her. He is still my hero though-the experience didn’t turn me against him.

Now on to the title of this post, I have learned how to darn! I darned our slippers and my Grand Dad’s sweater (that both Kyle and I wear). I may not be the best darned darner, but I’m proud and will post pictures soon. So even if you don’t like sock monkeys or sock puppets, don’t throw out your holy socks because you can give them new life! I will include a photo soon.

*****How to darn

1.Get a darning needle ( the big dull kind), and a piece of yarn.

2. Put a knot in the yarn and start sewing vertically from one side of the hole to the next.

3. Now bring the needle horizontally through the stitches like weaving a basket.

For better instructions with pictures, check out: http://www.hjsstudio.com/darn.html

8 Comments

Filed under fixing stuff, press

8 responses to “DARN!

  1. Hi Sarah, Hi Kyle — I want to join the media parade, too! (Sorry to gum up your comments but I couldn’t for the life of me find a “Contact Us” link here!)
    I’m a reporter for CTV National News and we’re keen to show our viewers too what you’re doing.
    If you can, please get in touch with me. My co-ordinates are all at http://www.davidakin.com.

    Cheers and good luck!

  2. Anna

    I darned too!! I just darned my favourite pink knee socks and the toe isn’t very pretty but there is no hole now. I was very proud.

    I’ve been thinking about our disposable culture and how we tend to throw things out because it’s so easy to get new ones. If there were no machines to make socks, people would darn and darn and darn because socks take so much time and effort to knit by hand. I’ll be darned (hee) if I’m going to just toss out something I spent 3 months knitting, but why spend an evening darning a cheapo tube sock when you can buy a new pair for a buck? Plus handmade things are so much more beautiful that I never want to throw them out. Some socks are even knit with a special heel so that when the original heel wears out, you can just knit a new one.

    My mom used to knit mittens for us as kids, and the dog kept eating the thumbs. She would then knit new thumbs onto the mittens.

  3. Thanks Anna! Can you send me a picture of your darned socked so I can post it with my darned slippers and sweater? Wow, all this clothing that is going to hell! Maybe that’s the way to market it-since devils and skulls are so cool now-a-days! I still don’t know what to do about the floss dilema, but I did learn about a type of tree you can brush your teeth with and the sap is paste! I’ll post on it ASAP.

  4. Claudette

    Hi Sarah
    I have just finished reading your blog info. Very interesting. As you know we were in Toronto in 2005 and one of the things that blew us away was that there were so many bottles and cans in the garbage containers on the streets. We are bottle pickers as you may recall and so we couldn’t understand why no one was collecting them to cash in on the cash. My understanding is that there is no program for this. I would like to know what is in place for this. I do try to recycle as much as possible, but certainly have a long ways to go to even get close to minor garbage. Although I must say that this past Christmas was the first time that I actually recycled most of the wrapping and packaging. Keep up the great push for no or less garbage. Hoping to see you on Gillian’s show on Monday.

  5. Wow Claudette, nice to hear from you! In Toronto you only get money back from beer bottles and cans (and not all brands). There is recycling for the others, but no incentive. It used to blow my mind that we would need an incentive, because the thought that we may fill the earth up with trash and have no place to live is incentive enough for me, but I realise now incentives and penalties are useful. I had a hard time watching myself on the Gill Deacon show because I thought I LOOKED SO FREAKISH! In the future, I am saying no to make-up. Anyhow it doesn’t really matter, as the important thing wasn’t about how I looked!:)

  6. Claudette

    Sarah
    I saw you on the Gill Deacon show. I thought you did a wonderful job. I have to say I don’t remember when I last made that much effort to watch something on TV. We went to Tim Horton’s for coffee last night. I thought of you as they handed us a to-go cup when we were staying in. I must say though that we did have the cookies on a glass plate and ate them all so that we wouldn’t have to have a bag and more garbage. We need an incentive to do something about the Tim Horton’s cups that are everywhere as garbage. Just wanted to let you know that I admire your efforts.

  7. Sarah

    Hi there,
    I saw your profile “Zero Garbage” on The Hour today (promising, since I never watch t.v.!). Contrary to something George Stroumboulopoulos said, some of us DO want to go this “far”. I find that it really doesn’t take much to be accountable for how much garbage I produce. I’ve been living garbage free (as absolutely possible) for four or five years now (and I do as much as I possibly can to limit my carbon/environmental footprint etc.). It is really great to see that there are other people thinking about where their garbage ends up, and of the effects that garbage has on the Earth; also, it is wonderful to see people taking this type of action.

  8. Troy

    I just saw your bit on “The Hour.” I think George Stuffleupagus was a bit condescending and superficial in his introduction but I am really happy to see you are getting your message out there!!

    PS. Sorry I missed you while you were here in Montreal. Moving, teaching, and school stuff got in the way.

Leave a Reply

